In a record, more than 300 manufacturing industry executives gathered at the Hyatt Regency in Huntington Beach, CA, in June to attend the 14th annual Manufacturing Leadership Summit & Awards conference, whose theme was “Accelerating the Transformation to Manufacturing 4.0”.

Over the course of the three-day event – which included a full-day meeting of the Manufacturing Leadership Council, the two-day Summit conference, and the black-tie ML Awards ceremony – attendees experienced individual presentations, panel discussions, think tanks, technology briefing sessions, and networking events involving companies and organizations across the spectrum of manufacturing.

Speakers and session facilitators hailed from companies such as Lockheed Martin, Merck, Bosch, Ford, HP, IBM, Cooley Group, LAI International, UI Labs, Caterpillar, ServiceMax, Rockwell Automation, Dassault Systemes, Autodesk, Proto Labs, NTT Data, Zebra, Siemens PLM, Hitachi, Intel, AT&T and Cisco Systems.


Praxair’s Larry Megan weighs in during the Critical Issues debate.

In a keynote on the first day of the ML Summit, Lockheed Martin’s Brynn Watson talks about Lockheed’s Manufacturing 4.0 transformation.

Merck’s Michele D’Alessandro addresses one of the most important challenges of our time – cybersecurity.

Nexteer’s Dennis Hoeg gives his perspective on Council programs.

Proto Labs’ Vicki Holt offers an idea on a Critical Issues definition.

General Motors’ Dan Grieshaber makes a point during the Council’s annual meeting.

Summit attendees gather for a presentation by Hitachi.

Manufacturing Leadership Council members in session at the Council’s annual meeting on June 11, the day before the start of the 14th annual Manufacturing Leadership Summit. Members debated and then voted on the Council’s Critical Issues agenda for the coming year.

A group of winners celebrate their awards on stage.

Dow’s Peter Holicki (center) accepts the Manufacturing Leader of the Year award from 2017 recipient Dr. Detlef Zuhlke (l), and the ML Council’s David R. Brousell.

IBM’s Ron Castro (center) accepts the Manufacturer of the Year (Large Enterprise) award from David Mongrue of Dow (l), the 2017 award winner, and the ML Council’s David R. Brousell.

Universal Robots’ Esben Ostergaard (center) accepts the Manufacturer of the Year award (Small/Medium Enterprise) from Jason Repac of Pixelligent Technologies (l), recipient of the 2017 award, and the ML Council’s David R. Brousell.

The 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award, to the late Richard E. Morley for his pioneering work as father of the programmable logic controller, is accepted by his friend Charles Bosler (center). Board of Governors member and Proto Labs CEO Vicki Holt (l) and ML Council Co-Founder David R. Brousell join Bosler on stage.

Merck team members celebrate winning the High Achiever Award in the Engineering andProduction Technology Leadership category.

Members of the ML Council’s Board of Governors gather at the Hyatt Regency in Huntington Beach, CA, for the Board’s annual meeting.